Convenors

Panel Title Title First name Last name Email
P01 Reconsidering Islamic Legal Traditions in South Asia: Politics, History, Ethnography Prof. Justin Jones justin.jones@theology.ox.ac.uk
P02 Son preference and gender bias in South Asia: shifts and continuities Christophe Guilmoto christophe.guilmoto@ird.fr
P03 Colonialisms Compared: Practices of Power in the Portuguese, French, and British empires in India Dr. Tara Mayer tara.mayer@ubc.ca
P04 Vernaculars, Memory construction and Emotion: Giant Jinas and Warrior Epics in Gwalior Prof. Dr. Heidi Pauwels hpauwels@uw.edu
P05 Childbirth in South Asia: multiple perspectives on continuing paradoxes Prof. Dr. Roger Jeffery r.jeffery@ed.ac.uk
P06 Rethinking regions: Cultural formations and circulation through and across regional boundaries Prof. Dr. Anne Murphy anne.murphy@ubc.ca
P07 Modi and religious minorities: the BJP in power since 2014 Prof. Gurharpal Singh gs41@soas.ac.uk
P08 Political representation in India: new discourses, new practices? Dr. Stéphanie Tawa Lama-Rewal tawalama@ehess.fr
P09 Documenting Mathematical Practices in South Asia: What Sources for what history? Dr. Agathe Keller kellera@univ-paris-diderot.fr
P10 Literary Sentiments: Gender and the Vernacular in colonial and postcolonial South Asia Dr. Shobna Nijhawan shobna@yorku.ca
P12 Arabic in South Asia: a language in/of the margins? Simon Leese 208900@soas.ac.uk
P13 Juristic Personalities and the ‘Rights of Non-Humans'. Gods, Animals and Natural Resources as Legal Persons in South Asia Dr. Daniela Berti dberti.vj@gmail.com
P14 Banglascapes in Southern Europe: comparative perspectives PhD Andrea Priori andrea.priori@uniroma3.it
P15 Levels of Culture  in the Early Modern European Study  of South Asian Languages Prof. Dr. Heinz Werner Wessler heinzwerner.wessler@gmail.com
P16 Pakistan Desires: Queer Futurities of the Urban Dr. Omar Kasmani kasmanio@gmail.com
P17 Women and Public Spaces: Questions of Sexuality, Visibility and Freedom Dr. Radhika Govinda radhika.govinda@ed.ac.uk
P18 Religious Networks, Religious Communities Dr. Brian Hatcher brian.hatcher@tufts.edu
P19 Gauging Comics and Graphic Narrative in South Asia Daniela Cappello danyradhat@hotmail.com
P20 Textoclasm, profanation, and desacralization in South Asia Dr. Paul Rollier paul.rollier@unisg.ch
P21 Caste and the outcaste. Subaltern histories of jati formation. Dr. Nicolas Jaoul jaoul.nicolas@gmail.com
P22 Producing and Consumming Photography in South Asia (1840-1980) Dr. Zoe Headley zoeheadley@gmail.com
P23 The <i>sayyids </i>in South Asia: the social and political role of a Muslim elite Dr. Julien Levesque jullevesque@gmail.com
P24 The Institutionalisation of Heritage in South Asia: the Possibilities of a Trans-Disciplinary Approach Dr. Anais Da Fonseca 500605@soas.ac.uk
P25 Who Speaks for the Village? Representations of the “Rural” in India from the Colonial to the Post-Colonial Era Dr. Delphine Thivet delphine.thivet@ehess.fr
P26 Genres and the Cultural Ecology of Early Modern South India (16-18th century) Margherita Trento margherita@uchicago.edu
P27 Economic Corridors, Development and Regional Cooperation in South Asia and Beyond Dr. Siegfried O. Wolf siegfried.wolf@sadf.eu
P28 Living on the Edge: Highland Societies and Lowland Polities Dr. Michael Willis michaelhotline@gmail.com
P29 Multiple worlds of the Adivasis Dr. Sangeeta Dasgupta sangeetadasgupta@hotmail.com
P30 ‘Muslim woman’/Muslim women Prof. Patricia Jeffery p.jeffery@ed.ac.uk
P31 Gender and Health in Colonial South Asia Dr. Samiksha Sehrawat samiksha.sehrawat@newcastle.ac.uk
P32 Writing - Grammar - Power: Language Issues in South Asia Dr. Georg Berkemer berkemeg@staff.hu-berlin.de
P33 The (Un)Partitioned Sindh: the entangled narratives of identity, legacy, and religion Kumbher Kamran kamrankhalid331@gmail.com
P34 Mainstreaming the margins: Northeast India and Hindutva’s cultural project Dr. Sajjan Kumar sajjanjnu@gmail.com
P35 Goa: Encounter, Complexity, Division, Cosmopolitanism Prof. Dr. Alexander Henn alexander.henn@asu.edu
P37 Majoritarian Politics and Vigilante Justice in India Prof. Dr. Kazuya Nakamizo kazuyanakamizo@yahoo.co.jp
P38 Education and Transformation in Contemporary India Prof. Meenakshi Thapan citizencivic.09@gmail.com
P39 Coded citizenship.  Biometrics, identity and de-socializing technologies in South Asia Prof. Pier Giorgio Solinas piergiosolinas@gmail.com
P40 Self in Performance II: Life Narratives in South Asia Dr. Monika Browarczyk monikabr@amu.edu.pl
P41 Religion and Socio-Political Violence in South Asia Dr. Sarbeswar Sahoo sarbeswar@hss.iitd.ac.in
P42 The Ethics and Practice of Remembering in India Prof. Shuchi Kapila kapilas@grinnell.edu
P43 New Realms of the Fantastic: Interdisciplinary Investigation of the Fantastic in South Asian Literature and Film PhD Justyna Wiśniewska-Singh j.wisniewska@uw.edu.pl
P44 Body politics, female subjectivities and reproductive health rights in South Asia Prof. Maya Unnithan m.unnithan@sussex.ac.uk
P45 Landscapes, agriculture, tourism and ethnicity in the Himalayas: An India-Nepal comparison Prof. Frederic Landy frederic_landy@orange.fr
P46 Major Patrons in Minor Courts: rethinking early modern cultural production Dr. Nadia Cattoni nadia.cattoni@unil.ch
P47 Studying Up: power, politics, and practice in elite education PhD Anna Ruddock anna.ruddock@gmail.com
P48 Infrastructures: Labour and Nature in South Asia PhD Aditya Ramesh aditya.ramesh.2@gmail.com
P49 Visual Anthropology of Performance: Roles, forms and limits of audio-visual analysis in the South Asian performing arts Dr. Ingrid Le Gargasson ingridlegargasson@hotmail.com
P50 Religious Flows and Ruptures in South Asia Dr. Melanie Vandenhelsken melanie.vandenhelsken@univie.ac.at
P51 Mediating South Asian diasporic experience in the 21st century: narratives across borders Dr. Clelia Clini cleliaclini@hotmail.com
P52 Maritime Crossroads: Social Histories of South Indian Port Cities Dr. Sebastian Prange s.prange@ubc.ca
P53 Oral-Written-Performed. The Rāmāyaṇa in Indian Literature and Arts Prof. Dr. Danuta Stasik d.stasik@uw.edu.pl
P54 Political systems and their influence on foreign policy making in South Asia Aleksandra Jaskólska jaskolska66@gmail.com
P55 Dalit and Adivasi Narratives and the Contestation of Space Dr. Nicole Thiara nicole.thiara@ntu.ac.uk
P56 Bouquets of Poetry and Garlands of Poets: The Anthology in South Asia Manpreet Kaur mk3674@columbia.edu